About Fairfax County

About Fairfax County

Fairfax County consists of approximately 400 square miles. Within the County limits are three incorporated towns (Clifton, Herndon, and Vienna) and two independent cities (Fairfax and Falls Church).

Learn more about the CORE localities.

Fairfax County is the largest jurisdiction in Northern Virginia and the Washington, DC region, boasting a dynamic business climate across a range of innovative sectors.  With its strategic location, talented workforce, and supportive ecosystem, the county has established itself as a destination where both large and small businesses succeed.

The Fairfax County Department of Economic Initiatives is focused on supporting the businesses owners of today and tomorrow.  We established Fairfax CORE to connect entrepreneurs and existing businesses with resources to help them establish and evolve.  Businesses considering relocating or expanding to Fairfax County can receive direct investment and site location assistance from our partner, the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority.

Fairfax County is divided into nine magisterial districts, and each district has an elected representative to the Board of Supervisors, which also has a chairman, elected at large. Be sure to connect with your Supervisor’s office to sign up for their communications and engage with your community. Find your Supervisor here or contact Fairfax CORE if you need assistance.